FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST KARIN NAYLOR

Hi Everyone!

This week we are featuring a sweet artist from my home state of Oklahoma:

TODAY’S FEATURED ARTIST:  KARIN NAYLOR

1. Please tell us, where are you from?
I’m from the heartland, right in the middle of the vast prairies of waving wheat.

2. When did you decide to become an artist?
I have just very recently been able to call myself an artist. I have nine children and spent most of my life raising them and home schooling them. It wasn’t until my youngest son graduated four years ago that I started painting.

3. What is your medium, and What subjects do you specialize in (animals, botanical art, portraits, etc)?
I started painting with watercolors, then acrylic, but my mother-in-law who dabbles in art as well, convinced me to try oils, and that is what I really like using now. I think my favorite thing to paint is landscapes, particularly mountains, but my focus is always changing as I challenge myself to try new things. I want to concentrate more on portraits right now, learning how to realistically paint a human face. I can’t say that I really specialize in any particular subject yet. There is so much to learn and I feel like I will always be in the school of art.

Rocky Mountain National Park
©Karin Naylor

4.  Are you drawn to certain colors more than others? If so, has that color changed or does it change in your art? (Do you find trends in different colors when your mood changes?)
I’ve always  loved blues, all shades of blues. And I love a painting that has a touch of bright red, or orange in it. I long to paint with vibrant colors, but I have to say that one of the most favorite paintings that I have done is very simple using just ultramarine blue,  raw umber, titanium white and a touch of yellow ochre.  I have found that my paintings are becoming more and more colorful. I noticed this for the first time when I put my paintings all together on my new website. I was astonished at how much color there was.

Seeking the Lost Sheep ©Karin Naylor

Seeking the Lost Sheep
©Karin Naylor

5. What inspires you?

Everything beautiful!  There is so much beauty in creation and light. Photographers and artists can capture a fleeting moment and share it to inspire and bless others. I love this!  It is the positive expression that lifts the soul and helps bring joy into the world.

6. Are you self-taught?
Yes, pretty much. I learn a lot from books and some from videos, but most of my learning is just hands on experimenting with brushes and colors.

7. What artist do you think you emulate the most, has had the most effect on you? (and why?)
I admire so many artists…

Snow Jewels ©Karin Naylor

Snow Jewels
©Karin Naylor

8. Do you take art workshops? What medium would you like to try?
I did take a watercolor class years ago, and I’m planning to take a palette knife workshop next week, but that’s about it. I would love to take a David Gray workshop.

9. Where can we find your artwork?

My website… http://www.knaylorpaintings.com/
My blog… http://alittlecorneroftheartistinme.wordpress.com/
My 30 Paintings in 30 Days blog… http://30daystopaintinspiration.wordpress.com/
Etsy… https://www.etsy.com/shop/alittleartcorner

Hannah's shoes ©Karin Naylor

Hannah’s Shoes
©Karin Naylor

10. What was the first thing you drew or painted?
I remember doing a finger-painting in 3rd grade of the sky and clouds. I loved the feeling of the paint on my hands, just like I love the feeling of dirt in the garden.  The teacher gave me huge compliments…I think it had a lot to do with my love for art.

11. What advice do you have for other artists or people who want to get started selling their work?
Listen to Leslie Saeta’s art talks…she’s amazing! http://www.blogtalkradio.com/artistshelpingartists

Summer Season Bouquet ©Karin Naylor

Summer Season Bouquet
©Karin Naylor

12. What really big thing has happened in your artistic journey?
My art is featured in a gallery near here. Very exciting to have your art in a gallery. I never dreamed this would happen.

13. Do you think the the daily painting movement has had a positive or negative affect on the artworld? Is the market saturated?
I’m not really familiar with the daily painting movement, except to know that it is there. I have participated in 30 Paintings in 30 Days, but I’m not even sure that would apply.  I do think it is truly marvelous that through the internet so many people can share the art that flows from within them.

En Liten Flicka ©Karin Naylor

En Liten Flicka
©Karin Naylor

14. Has the daily painting movement affected the way you work?
Doing 30 Paintings in 30 Days has had a profound affect on my confidence, and my abilities as an artist.

15. What artist do you think you emulate the most, has had the most effect on you? (and why?)
I think this is a repeat of question 7, but I’ll try and elaborate a little more this time.  I love the work of Simon Dewey and Greg Olson and their depictions of Jesus.  I also love the Swedish painter Carl Larsson, his incredible colors and his depiction of everyday family scenes. My mother is Swedish and I grew up with her love of this painter.

David Gray does such beautiful work with portraits, here is a really great interview with him that shows his techniques… http://underpaintings.blogspot.com/2012/11/color-palettes-david-gray-b1970.html This really inspires me! I would have to say that right now I would like to learn how to paint portraits a la David Gray.

________________________________________________________

Cindy’s Remarks:

Thank you Karin Naylor for being my guest today on FROM THE ARTLAND.

You can find Karin online at the following sites:

Karin Naylor’s Website… http://www.knaylorpaintings.com/
Karin Naylor’s Blog… http://alittlecorneroftheartistinme.wordpress.com/
Karin Naylor’s 30 Paintings in 30 Days blog… http://30daystopaintinspiration.wordpress.com/
Karin Naylor’s Etsy shop… https://www.etsy.com/shop/alittleartcorner

________________________________________________________________

If you are an artist and would like to be interviewed to give your art exposure and “get your art out there”, please go to this page and email me your answers. The email address is on the page.  

PLEASE if you are an artist, I would love to hear from you and include you in an interview, sharing your art with others. Please click on the above link and email me your answers. I will include your artwork as well. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE 4-5 IMAGES OF YOUR WORK AND WHERE WE CAN FIND THEM so I can include your artwork.

Thank you for visiting I appreciate you all!

Cindy

7 thoughts on “FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST KARIN NAYLOR

  1. Thank you so much, Cindy, for doing these interviews. I sure appreciate all the time and work you put into promoting artists.:)

    I have to tell you that you wouldn’t believe the weather we’re having here in OK…4 inches of snow and it was zero degrees yesterday morning. And it’s not just melting off like it usually does…

    • Thank you Karin for the interview! I enjoy finding out aboit artists, where they get inspiration, and how they differ from others.

      Wow, crazy weather for Oklahoma!

      Thanks again, and thank you all my readers and for the comments, I appreciate you all! :-)

Leave a Reply

