The Saxon Sanctuary

The Saxon Sanctuary, cindy_williams, Cindy Williams, Cindy Williams Art, pastels, painting
The Saxon Sanctuary

I finally finished the painting! It is a painting of The Saxon Sanctuary. This church is located in a beautiful little village called Wootton Wawen.  It is called “St. Peter’s Wootton Wawen”.

My hubby, Kez, and I went there last night on our way home from Stratford-on-Avon, and we had a lovely evening. We walked around the church and even was able to go inside.

I was able to take some brilliant photos for future paintings, and Kez found a “friend” (A man walking a little dog named “Ben”. By the way, that was the first dog I ever saw that was called a Jack-a-Doodle, cross between a Jack Russell and a poodle.)  I should have taken its photo, UGH!

The man was telling Kez all about the little village and what used to be where…. it is such a lovely little place.  I may even do a whole painting series about that little village … HMMMM….

This painting is getting me back into the habit of painting every day because I had stopped and was taking watercolour classes. I am not confident in my watercolours, yet, but will continue to do pastel paintings and improve on that. I have found a new excitement to my art, and I am so happy to be painting every day. This painting is a big 10×14″ and is taking a while, but I am enjoying the process.

Look for some new art coming very soon!

©Cindy Williams Art

2 thoughts on “The Saxon Sanctuary

  1. Thats some nice work there.Well done.I think a series of paintings of Wootton Wawen would be a good idea as its so picturesque! The quintessential English village.

    Like

Comments are closed.