The Artist’s Way…Morning Pages.. week 3 (starting day 15)

ImageI have been writing my Morning Pages every morning, according to Julia Cameron.  I do like the book, however, I have to admit, I have been doing it all wrong. For now, my head isn’t in it.

I have been working a lot, getting up early, going to bed way too early (from exhaustion)…BUT… writing my morning pages has helped to clear away a lot of junk in my poor little brain.

Julia Cameron suggests “Artist’s Dates” on your own… making a date every week with yourself, alone, and sticking to it. She also has a contract you are supposed to commit to, I have to admit, I have only stuck with the Morning Pages. It is a 12 week “program” to help your creative side emerge. BUT I suppose you could apply it to anything in your life, not just art.

I also purchased a book “The Artist’s Way at work” and it helps with your business and working side. Anyway, I must stick to this, I have committed to myself that I would, and I want to follow on through with it.  For my birthday I got a few vouchers from Amazon.co.uk .  Well, I’m at a fork in the road at the moment. I wanted to teach alternative healing therapies, but my “artist” voice was screaming from the rooftops to go down the Art Road.

So, I am following that road.  Many people may say that is the wrong one, but at the moment, it’s what I dream about, it’s what I think about all the time… “I wish I could paint like that” … and “why couldn’t I do this and that in art”….   Well, I am never going to get better if I don’t practice. And I want to do so much!!!

So here, I am starting my journey. I have had this WordPress blog for almost a year, and haven’t put it to use, so now, I have decided… I’m going to use it. I mean, it DOES have my name on it…   http://www.cindywilliamsart.com    

I am so happy I have finally found my true calling, and it feels natural too.

©Cindy Williams

5 thoughts on “The Artist’s Way…Morning Pages.. week 3 (starting day 15)

  1. Cindy, I can totally relate to what you are saying! Congratulations on making the decision to listen to you inner self and follow your artsy dreams!! I can’t wait to read how it goes!
    -Christina 😉

    Like

  2. That is fabulous! As for “doing it right,” I think that the most important thing to realize is that it is your journey. It will take as long as it is supposed to. I thought that I had to “do it right/perfect/etc” but I have ended up adding time when needed and that sort of thing. It is hard for me to be flexible like that but in the long run, I have learned a lot more. I didn’t know about the book related to work. I have seen info on the book related to diet…and I have thought about doing that next. Always something to think about!

    Like

  3. Yes, I guess you are right… it IS my journey, I just have missed out on a lot of the book’s “suggestions”… anyway, Im still doing morning pages every day 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.