The Artist’s Way, Day 8

Yesterday, I decided to go on my Artist Date. (Yesterday I went to Stratford. You know, Stratford-On-Avon, UK. Well, it helps when you don’t live far from it. I wanted to visit Holy Trinity Church, where Williams Shakespeare is buried. So I arrived and parked in the multi-story carpark.

Holy Trinity Church©2013 Cindy Williams

Holy Trinity Church
©2013 Cindy Williams

I will just add  here that now one of the multi-story carpark is charging 20p to use the facilities. AND it costs £1/hour to park your car. BUT… it IS a wonderful town

. The best part of Stratford is, it is small. There are LOADS of tourists… all the time.

The Shakespeare Monument

The Shakespeare Monument
You can find more about this monument on this site: http://www.hollowaypages.com/Shakespearemonument.htm

So it doesn’t take a long time to get from A-to-B.
So when you get to the Holy Trinity Church, you can go inside the church (for free) but they are now charging you £2 to go see the grave of Shakespeare. But you can take pics and all that.

Sooooo….. back to my Artist Date… I really enjoyed taking time on my own to go and take photos with my camera. I wanted to sit and write about The Holy Trinity Church, but it was so cold, I just decided to put my photos on my computer and meditate on my day.

William Shakespeare's Grave©2013 Cindy Williams

William Shakespeare’s Grave
©2013 Cindy Williams

It’s lovely to walk beside the River Avon. There were people on the River that were boating. And the chain ferry was going back and forth across the river, just like all through history.

At Shakespeare’s time, digging up dead people’s bones was common. So Shakespeare put a curse on anyone who decided to dig up his bones:

“Good frend for Jesus sake forebeare,/ To digg the dust encloased heare;/ Bleste be the man that spares thes stones,/ And curst be he that moves my bones.”

That’s OLDE ENGLISH spelling :)… so, NO, it is NOT necessarily mis-spelling, our language has evolved over the centuries.

It was a good day, though very cold.  This week, I will go back through my photos and write in my sketchbook. I am glad I started the Artist’s Way Journey… I was afraid I wouldn’t stick to it, but still doing my Morning Pages, and getting into the journey.

Any comments are welcome to let me know if you are doing the Artist’s Way and where you are on the journey. Let me know what you are doing on your Artist’s Dates… every week won’t be extravagant, I am just happy to go to the local art shop and just look around. I even went to the garden center yesterday to complete my Artist Date. I didn’t buy a thing, but it was so nice to treat myself to some time on my own, just to do what I want. I am “filling the well” as Julia Cameron puts it.

CIAO for now!

©2013 Cindy Williams

3 thoughts on “The Artist’s Way, Day 8

  1. aloha Cindy. very cool on your Artist’s Date journey. i encountered the artists way a number of years ago. i no longer formalize my art time. i just step outside. or inside. and away i am. that’s basically the way i am thinking about 85% of the time day or night. way fun on that.

    as i see it there are many good things about the way you are going about it tho, and i think maybe i should get back into that too.

    over a 3.5 year period where i was unable to go much or often beyond my own yard i learned there is a wealth and never ending light and subject matter within my own (small) yard, where i found new things to photograph or explore every day. i’m still doing that but i get beyond my yard occasionally now. way fun. aloha.

    Like

  2. Thank you very much Rick. I am going into Week 4 (starting tomorrow) of the Artist’s Way. It has had a bigger effect on me than I thought it would. I am getting more ideas and feeling a bit better about myself. 🙂

    Aloha to you too 🙂

    Like

  3. cool. there are a number of good books (and other sources) that can help move us outside of our own patterns. they are great resources in that area just like the artists way, because the increase our experiences which in turn give us more options in our work.

    the more we learn and experience the more we can become our own guide and resource too (imo), which is also a good thing as I see it. I think that’s one of the benefits of blogging and blog exploration as well, ideas flow, we become a planet wide community and we learn from each other as well as inspire and grow. way cool on that.

    cool on your journey. I liked this Shakespeare day. it was a treat for me to see it through your exploration. way fun thank you. aloha.

    Like

Comments are closed.