Artist Date – Stratford on Avon – Shakespeare Houses part 1

Shakespeare's Birthplace

The Birthplace of William Shakespeare
Photography by ©2013 Cindy Williams. All Rights Reserved.

For those of you that have read “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron, you know that she suggests to help your creativity, you should take time out each week and go on an “Artist’s Date”. BUT she suggests doing it alone.

Well I certainly understand that statement, why we should go alone on our artist date , get your mind working, all that good stuff… BUT, I decided to take my hubby with me.  Our first stop was Shakespeare’s Birthplace.

Stratford is only about 12 miles from our home. And we both had the day off, so we went last week. We decided to tour the Shakespeare houses, as we have not stepped foot in some of them.  Imagine, living that close, and never seeing the inside of these grand Tudor-era sites.  They have lasted all through the years, from the 1500’s!

Anne Hathaway's Cottage

Anne Hathaway’s Cottage
Photography ©2013 Cindy Williams. All Rights Reserved.

We were not disappointed in our findings.

Our next stop was Anne Hathaway’s Cottage. Anne Hathaway was Shakespeare’s wife.

We have both been here a few times before, but it’s fascinating each visit! And I love the gardens and the house. The last time we visited was in 2008 and they were putting new thatch on the roof. As you can see, five years later, it certainly has weathered.

The gardens are vibrant with color, and they had a “singing tree”, Im not sure what that was all about, but my hubby and all thought it was a bit strange. I guess it was part of the “art”.

Mary Arden's Farm

Mary Arden’s Farm
©Cindy Williams

The third and final place we visited last Monday (Apr 21, 2013) was Mary Arden’s Farm.

Mary Arden was Shakespeare’s Mother.

The farm is a working farm, they have animals there, and also volunteers that dress in period clothing, re-enacting the time of Shakespeare. Volunteers even spend the night at the farm sometimes when they have events on, to keep in character.

As you can see, this post is “Shakespeare Houses part 1”. I haven’t gone into a lot of detail, I have loads of photos I could share with you, I will find a way to get them online and add details.

My newsletter is coming out on the 2nd Saturday of May, which is May 12, 2013. If you would like to keep up with my art and adventures, subscribe to my newsletter and it will come right to your inbox. You can sign up here…

Thank you for your support and I will be posting more about the Shakespeare houses in the near future.

©2013 Cindy Williams

