September 30 Day Painting Challenge – Day 21

Hi Everyone!

Thank you so much for joining me on my tour of Wales, we are winding down now and we have travelled many many miles. I will tally it all up and let you know at the end of the journey.

So have you enjoyed your “Armchair Tour” of Wales so far?

Today we continue in Llanberis. It isn’t very big, but surprisingly there are quite a few things to see and do.

Snowdon Mountain Railway

9×22″

Watercolor

©Cindy Williams

Snowdon Mountain Railway ©Cindy Williams

Snowdon Mountain Railway
9×22″
Watercolor
©Cindy Williams

This was such a fun painting to do! However it took me two nights to do it! Yes I have had to paint ahead a bit, because of my job and we also went on holiday this week… guess where? NORTH WALES! 🙂 It was sort of a last minute thing, but I thought it was cool whilst we are doing a virtual holiday of Wales, my husband and I are able to take a real trip to Wales, we haven’t been to NORTH WALES in several years.

I am still painting with Watercolor. I hope I am able to make it the whole challenge without using pastels. NOT that I don’t like them because I love to use them, I just wanted a change.

Here is some information on Snowdon Mountain Railway, in case you fancy visiting here:

http://www.snowdonrailway.co.uk/

All I’m saying, and I shouldn’t maybe say it, is IT AIN’T CHEAP! It costs £27 for a return fare to the top of the mountain, and £20 for a single fare… about SINGLE FARE… this means you take the train up, BUT YOU WALK BACK DOWN. And what I have heard before,… you need proper hiking boots, and more than likely a rain coat, and it takes about two hours to walk back down. What I’m saying is, you need to be prepared.  So PERSONALLY, if I were going to do the trip, I would definitely pay the extra £7 for the return fare, unless hiking is “YOUR THANG”. 🙂

We tried to get on it before and people book ahead and they had no seats until the next day. It is really busy and a really popular tourist attraction. But I can imagine the view is spectacular.

I found this video on youtube about the Snowdon Mountain Railway:

I hope you have enjoyed this post and my painting of Snowdon Mountain Railway.

I hope to be able to go up it one day, it looks fabulous.

Thank you for visiting and if you liked this post, could you please SHARE it on Facebook and Twitter or your favorite social media site?

Thank you, and see you tomorrow,

Cindy

2 thoughts on “September 30 Day Painting Challenge – Day 21

  1. This is a great painting of the Snowdon railway – and I can assure you the view from the top is to die for!! I regularly hike up Snowdon but never been up on the train, in fact thinking of going up there this Friday so keep a look out on my blog for photos from the top!

    Like

  2. Thank you Sharon, I was very intimidated with it but I wanted to give it a try. its one of the biggest paintings I have ever done. I hope you get to go to Snowdon, I love it there. We walked up to the waterfall, and the train goes right by us, can you just keep walking from there up to the top, or do you have to go a different way up?

    Like

Comments are closed.