September 30 Day Painting Challenge – Day 24

Hi Everyone!

Day 24 of the 30 day painting challenge…. WOW! I didn’t think I would make it this far.

As of today we are 80% of the way through the challenge, can you believe it? 🙂

Today we are stopping off at a beautiful place. Make sure you have your hiking boots though, as it is quite a walk! (and it involves climbing as well).  Please bring a backpack with some water too, and there is a place for a picnic, so why not just sit and enjoy the scenery and have a little picnic?!

My painting for today is:

Fairy Glen

12×10″

Acrylic

©Cindy Williams

Fairy Glen ©Cindy Williams

Fairy Glen
12×10″
Acrylic Painting
©Cindy Williams

This painting was lots of fun! I am just getting the hang of acrylic paints. I have jumped right in and started using watercolor for this challenge and also I have decided that some of my paintings I would use acrylic. Well, I also bought some molding paste and have used it on a few of my paintings. So I take the paste and place a thin layer and let it dry and keep layering it until it is as thick as I want it, and then I paint the painting. The paste in the painting gives my art a 3-D look 🙂

I have been wanting to go to Fairy Glen for many years, ever since I drove by it, and we were not able to stop. Well, when we decided to go to Wales for our wedding anniversary (10 years!) then I made a list of places we were definitely going to see… St. Winefride’s Well was on the list, Bodnant Garden, and Fairy Glen…. along with the others but THESE THREE were a MUST SEE for me.

Fairy Glen is “Ffos Noddun” in Welsh which means “Deep Ditch”.

Fairy Glen is so lovely, I was so excited to get to see it. And when you drive up the road to it, (or walk) you can definitely imagine fairies living there. Or are you imagining? 🙂

Fairy Glen is near Betws-y-coed.

This is a really good video of Fairy Glen.

Here are a few sites:

http://www.betws-y-coed.co.uk/feature_pages/item/1222/Fairy_Glen_Betws_y_Coed.html

CLICK HERE FOR SOME WONDERFUL IMAGES OF FAIRY GLEN

After walking a while, we can sit and rest 🙂

Fairy Glen ©Cindy Williams

Fairy Glen ©Cindy Williams

I hope you have enjoyed the visit to Fairy Glen and I hope you will take the time to go and visit, it is so lovely. You may just find a couple of little fairies flying around 🙂

On the way we saw large quartz stones and also flint just lying on the ground.

Check it out!

See you tomorrow,

Cindy

6 thoughts on “September 30 Day Painting Challenge – Day 24

  1. Wonderful painting, Cindy. You’ve encouraged me to step out of my watercolor box and try a new medium. I also really enjoyed the video. Wish I could take a Fall hike in Wales, but this is the next best thing!

    Like

  2. Cindy, Congrats on making it this far (Day 24) and thanks for stopping by my blog. Your painting, post and video was all great stuff. I would love to do a challenge like this also but I am just to busy and would fall off after the second day, lol

    Like

Comments are closed.