Obsession

It is a cursed evil to any man to become as absorbed in any subject as I am in mine.

(Charles Darwin)

Hi Everyone!

I started today’s post with a quote by Charles Darwin.

ob·ses·sion    [uhb-sesh-uhn]

noun

1.  the domination of one’s thoughts or feelings by a persistent idea, image, desire, etc.
2.  the idea, image, desire, feeling, etc., itself.
3.  the state of being obsessed.
4.  the act of obsessing.
Origin: 1505–15;  < Latin obsessiōn-  (stem of obsessiō ) blockade, siege, equivalent to obsess ( us ) (see obsess) + -iōn- -ion
My obsession is ART. I saw some posts by artist Carrie Waller ( a wonderful, fabulous watercolor artist). She showed how she used gold leaf on her paintings, and they turned out beautiful!
So I decided I would try it.
Gold Leaves for gilding ©Cindy Williams

Gold Leaves for gilding
©Cindy Williams

I hope it doesnt turn into an obsession! Most of the things that I try that are new to me, become an obsession, until I find something else, and then I turn to that, with an obsession. I can’t help it. Apparently, it’s in my blood!
As you can see I have prepared some panels ready to paint.
Preparing panels for painting ©Cindy Williams

Preparing panels for painting ©Cindy Williams

Here is a video about gold leaf angel paintings from Andrew Lakey:

 

 

If any of this has inspired you, please let me know if you try it and how it all turns out! Turn it into a blog post 🙂

Thank you for visiting, I appreciate you all!

Cindy

One thought on “Obsession

Comments are closed.