Visit to the Heart of the Industrial Revolution

Hi Everyone!

OK, so I sort of went a bit mad on the Headline of this post…. We went to Birmingham (UK) today. But that doesn’t sound exciting, so I decided to spice it up a bit.

I have done no painting today, I took a break from any hard thinking, and went to the city.

I am unemployed at the moment… well, sort of… I am waiting to start my new job. So this week I am at home. And my dear hubby took this week as a holiday. We were watching a programme the other day, and they were filming from the new library in Birmingham, so we decided to meander over there and see what all the buzz was about.

First we bought the tickets. Now… The ticket guy tells us the train will be late… so we have to wait almost an hour…

Ticket to Ride ©Cindy Williams

Ticket to Ride ©Cindy Williams

And of course it starts to rain, so we decide to go to the Bus Station for a coffee.

Cappuccino ©Cindy Williams

Cappuccino ©Cindy Williams

It’s getting time for the train to arrive, so we head back down to the train station. Luckily, it’s only across the road from the Bus Station. (This is all in Redditch, UK).  (Did I mention it is still raining at this time?)

We finally made it to Birmingham New Street Station.

New Street Station, Birmingham ©Cindy Williams

New Street Station, Birmingham ©Cindy Williams

I decided to be a tourist today 🙂

Cindy and Iron Man

Cindy and Iron Man ©Cindy Williams

We went to the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, and we saw some of the Staffordshire Hoard, which was amazing. (The museum is on the other side of the council house.)

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Council House ©Cindy Williams

Afterwards we took a look at the brand new Birmingham Library.

Library of Birmingham ©Cindy Williams

Library of Birmingham ©Cindy Williams

It’s really cool! It’s one of the largest libraries in the world! It has 10 levels. (To me, it looks like a giant cake) 😀

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

Birmingham Library ©Cindy Williams

This library is located by the Birmingham REP (theatre).

So, that is what we did today, and I have to say, every time we go to Birmingham, we are exhausted when we get home.

It’s such a vast city centre, and we mostly walk…. for miles…

Even though it rained, all day, it was a pretty good day, and I am glad we decided to go.

Thanks for visiting, I appreciate you ALL!

Cindy

8 thoughts on “Visit to the Heart of the Industrial Revolution

  1. Oooo….that library looks amazing – I would be living there. Glad you and the hubby are having a week together. Love the pic of you and Iron Man. Cheers from your USA friend Frances

    Like

  2. Thanks Frances! a bit different post today haha 🙂 I do like Birmingham, even before I came to the UK to live, I loved it, I always thought about it 🙂 and now, its not far

    Like

  3. What an amazing library! So big at a time when libraries are supposedly going out of style – silly idea! 10 levels – wow! You did a very nice job of telling the story of your trip – it all makes me want to see Birmingham.

    Elephant

    Like

  4. Thank you! Its incredible! I have more pics but I wanted to highlight the library so I just added those photos. We are going in December to see Black Sabbath in Birmingham and I will post more about the city 🙂

    Like

  5. Very pleased you enjoyed Birmingham so much; it is the most underestimated city in Britain. Not quite so keen on the new library though. Fifty years ago I often used the wonderful old Reference Library. (That’s the one before the one before this latest one.) Fortunately the Shakespeare Room from that original library has been rebuilt in the new one- well worth a visit for that alone.

    Like

Comments are closed.