FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST ANNE TERKELSEN

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to another episode of FROM THE ARTLAND 🙂

Today’s featured artist is:  

ANNE TERKELSEN

1. Please tell us, where are you from?

I’m from Denmark, though I currently reside in Bournemouth, UK.  I came to Bournemouth to do a BA in animation and ended up staying after I’d graduated.

2. When did you decide to become an artist?

I didn’t. I don’t think you really do… You just are. Because you can’t help it. I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember. If I don’t draw and paint I get really frustrated. Apparently I can come across as a bit obsessive compulsive when it comes to my art. So I’ve been told, not that I mind. But I suppose my first idea of art as a profession came after I saw Disney’s Aladdin as a kid and realised that real, actual grown-ups were doing that for a living. So I decided I wanted to be an animator. It just kinda took off from there.

3. Art you self-taught?

Yes and no. I’ve been drawing since I could hold a drawing implement. Because I loved it so much my parents allowed me to attend some art evening classes when I was about fourteen.  But it wasn’t until I had finished my A-levels and decided I was going to pursue an artistic career rather than an academic one that I received actual art training. I did a foundation animation course and then continued to do a BA (Hons) in Film and Animation Production. I had a great time doing it and learned a lot.

4. What inspires you?

Talented artists inspire me to work harder and get better. But in terms of what inspires the things I draw and paint it’s characters in books and films mainly and music. I love writing, always have, in many ways it was a toss-up between taking the art or the writing route, and so I write all sorts of stories and then draw the characters in them. Quite a common trait amongst artists I believe. I love tragic characters with lots of baggage who in spite of all indications to the contrary end up living happily ever after. I’m a sucker for happy endings.

5. What’s your favorite medium?

Pencil and Wacom pen. I honestly couldn’t pick one over the other. I adore digital painting, but actual drawing I still do pencil on paper. Everything I paint starts out as a pencil sketch.

6. Who is your favorite artist?

There are so many. But two whom I feel particularly inspired by are Ian McCaig and Dylan Cole. Their tutorial DVDs are just amazing. I’d love to meet them in person. And I also have to mention Swedish artist Linda Bergkvist who inspired me to try digital painting in the first place. Her work is phenomenal in every way.

7. Do you take art workshops? What medium would you like to try?

I don’t really. Lack of time more than anything. I have a full time job at an art university and I also train as a classical singer and sing in an all-female ensemble in my spare time. But I’m a big fan of tutorial DVDs.

There isn’t really another medium that I’m longing to try out. When I did my degree we were strongly encouraged to try any medium imaginable, so I did. I found I just didn’t get along most of them. I really don’t get along with real paint or anything messy like charcoal and pastels. I like control over my strokes which I guess is why I’ve always loved pencils. And it’s why I love painting with using a tablet and Photoshop.

I would like to find time to try out matte painting. Not so much another medium, but rather another style.

Raynfalg ©Anne Terkelsen

Raynfalg ©Anne Terkelsen

8. Where can we find your artwork?

On my blog ‘Frustration Inkorporated’:

http://frustration-ink.blogspot.co.uk/

On my Deviant Art page:

http://missterkelsen.deviantart.com/

9. What was the first thing you drew or painted?

Friends. And by that I don’t mean my own friends. I made up friends and drew them. It probably sounds really sad, but I loved it. I’ve always loved making up characters. I did have real life friends, just thought I’d add that;-)

10. What advice do you have for other artists or people who want to get started selling their work?

Don’t be afraid. It can seem like a very daunting undertaking. I’m a very insecure artist myself. Doing a freelance gig is one thing… but selling your own personal work… that’s scary, because you’re putting yourself out there, not just fulfilling the brief of a client.

Don’t sell yourself too cheaply… or worse for free. There’s this horrible trend of people trying to get artists, amateur and professional, to do work for free. All I can say is DON’T. You’re not only disrespecting your own art, but also undermining other artists. Who’s going to want to pay one artists if another is willing to work for free? So, it might be good exposure? Can you eat exposure? Does it pay the bills? No, it doesn’t.

In terms of setting a price I was advised by another long time freelancer when I did my first freelance gig to pick what I thought a realistic monthly salary would be and then work out an hourly rate from that. I found that very helpful.

And be patient. It’s a big world full of other talented artists. It takes time and effort to get a following. You need to proactive and get your art out there. Networking is important… Something I admit I’m not too good at myself… join groups, link up with other artists, go to conventions if you can… basically, meet people, both on-line and in real life. Show off your stuff!

11. What really big thing has happened in your artistic journey?

When I started painting digitally using a graphics tablet. Up until that point a I was practically a pencil only artist. I can thank my brother for the digital input. Some years ago now he sent me a link to the website of the amazing digital artist Linda Bergkvist, he thought I’d like her work. I did! All I could think was ‘I want to learn how to do that!’ And that’s what I’ve been trying to do ever since.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Cindy’s Remarks:

THANK YOU to ANNE TERKELSEN for allowing us to peek into her art world. We will certainly be re-visiting her in the future.

Anne’s Blog is found here:  http://frustration-ink.blogspot.co.uk/

__________________________________________________________________________________

 If you are an artist and would like to be interviewed to give your art exposure and “get your art out there”, please go to this page and email me your answers. The email address is on the page.  

PLEASE if you are an artist, I would love to hear from you and include you in an interview, sharing your art with others. Please click on the above link and email me your answers. I will include your artwork as well.

Thank you for visiting, I appreciate all of my readers!

Cindy

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST ANNE TERKELSEN

Comments are closed.