FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST PATRICIA AWAPARA

Hi Everyone,

What better way to start the week than an artist interview?

Today’s featured artist:

PATRICIA AWAPARA

1. Please tell us, where are you from?

My story begun around forty years ago, in a far, far away land… ok, not so far, just 5,000 miles, in a city called Lima -Peru, known for their delicious dishes like “Ceviche” and “Lomo Saltado”. And recently “Machu-Picchu” was declared one of the New Seven Wonders of the World. Anyway, getting back to my story… after 16 years of Peruvian Ceviche, my parents moved us (my three sisters and me) to the US. Change is always difficult, but we adjusted quickly. Through the years, life happened, and art became a long forgotten passion. I didn’t get married or have kids, but I had to pay bills and had to have fun, which I did plenty, so I’m not complaining.

2. When did you decide to become an artist?

It wasn’t until 2004 that I took my first painting class. Since then I decided I wanted to paint professionally.

Tomato Plant ©Patricia Awapara

Tomato Plant
5×7″
Oil On Gesso Board
Patricia Awapara

3. What is your medium, and What subjects do you specialize in (animals, botanical art, portraits, etc)?

I go back and forth between oils and acrylics. I have been painting everything from landscape to abstract, but recently I started to paint portraits again and applying my latest feel for color.

4.  Are you drawn to certain colors more than others? If so, has that color changed or does it change in your art? (Do you find trends in different colors when your mood changes?)

It all started as an experimental phase, but using lots of colors in my paintings feel natural and exhilarating. I think color does play a big part on our mood; however, it could be the other way around. My use of color might be the reflection of my playful nature.

5. What inspires you?

Everything and everyone! 😀

6. Are you self-taught?

I always loved to draw and paint. I took my first painting class on 2004, a three more after that. So, it did help me to learn a few tricks, but I believe that no matter how much you learn, the best teacher is the act of painting.

6×6″
Oil on Gesso Board
©Patricia Awapara

7. What artist do you think you emulate the most, has had the most effect on you? (and why?)

I love the thick palette of VanGogh and the style of the impressionist movement, but I also appreciate the works of Rembrandt and the contrast of his paintings.

8. Do you take art workshops? What medium would you like to try?

I would love to, so, I think eventually I will make time to attend one at least. I am trying mix media, I think it is interesting to come up with a different way to create.

9. Where can we find your artwork?

Blog: http://awapara.wordpress.com

Official website: Awapara.com

Facebook page: Awapara Fine Art

Twitter: Patricia Awapara

email: pati@awaparastudio.com

10. What was the first thing you drew or painted?

As a child? I Don’t remember, but I do remember my first color painting… Feelings. This painting is my joy, my first baby and it has won 4 different awards. Can’t complaint.. heehee

Rain Boot Flower Pot
Acrylic on Canvas
©Patricia Awapara

11. What advice do you have for other artists or people who want to get started selling their work?

I know we all want to sell, but focus on painting, and then, don’t be afraid of rejection, it is part of the business.

12. What really big thing has happened in your artistic journey?

I realized that before anything meaning could happen to my carrier I had to dedicate time to it. So, I recently quit my job and I know have time to focus on painting and promotion. In fact, I was contacted by RAW artist. An organization dedicated to promote new artist. I accepted the invitation to participate in the October event and it was an extraordinary experience. It gave me a chance to connect with other artists and for my art to be seen. I sold a few paintings and got a couple of commissions. In addition, because I got to the semi-finalist, I got a chance to exhibit again on November 22.

I will also be part of the South Miami Art Festival this upcoming weekend, November 2 & 3. I am really excited, being that it is my first one.

13. Do you think the daily painting movement has had a positive or negative affect on the artworld? Is the market saturated?

I think change is always difficult to adapt to, but I choose to see this as a positive. In a way, is pushing us (artist) to get better, to participate in the movement and to increase our inventory.

14. Has the daily painting movement affected the way you work?

In a way, just because I participated in the 30 in 30 challenge, painting one small piece a day, which was an incredible experience. However, it is not for everyone and in my case, it was fun, but I am focusing my attention on bigger pieces, and most of them take a bit more time than just one day.

15. What artist do you think you emulate the most, has had the most effect on you? (and why?)

I think art in general affects my creativity. I get inspired by color, so, If I see a painting, whether it is an abstract or a landscape, the effect is positive.

16. Do you think the standard of art has dropped since the daily painting movement started?

As buyers and as sellers, as spectators or as artists I believe we each have our standard. It could be different things for different people. Art is about perspective.

This piece is found on Patricia Awapara’s Etsy site
©Patricia Awapara
http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/pawapara?ref=l2-shopheader-name

17. Do you think art can still affect politics and people, changing the way they think?

Art is a way of communication and I do believe that some pieces were and will have a political agenda; I do think it affects the way people react to it.

18. Do you think art can still influence people as much as in the past, when there are more artists than ever and posting on the internet?

I think Art will always have the ability to influence.

19. Do you think there will be another art revolution like artists in the Renaissance, and Picasso, and Monet, and Warhol?

Sure, why not!

20. What piece of art had an emotional effect on you? (Made you angry, happy, sad)

No other painting had the horrible effect than “Saturn Devouring His Son, by Goya. I saw it live for the first time in my trip to Madrid, at the Museo del Prado.

______________________________________________________________

Cindy’s Remarks:

Thank you Patricia Awapara! You can find her work here:

Blog: http://awapara.wordpress.com

Official website: Awapara.com

Facebook page: Awapara Fine Art

Twitter: Patricia Awapara

email: pati@awaparastudio.com

____________________________________________________________________________

If you are an artist and would like to be interviewed to give your art exposure and “get your art out there”, please go to this page and email me your answers. The email address is on the page.  

PLEASE if you are an artist, I would love to hear from you and include you in an interview, sharing your art with others. Please click on the above link and email me your answers. I will include your artwork as well. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE 4-5 IMAGES OF YOUR WORK AND WHERE WE CAN FIND THEM so I can include your artwork.

Thank you for visiting I appreciate you all!

Cindy

(NaBloPoMo post #10)

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARTLAND – ARTIST PATRICIA AWAPARA

  1. I love Pati’s work, and her life story is fascinating…Well, she is just an all around fascinating and inspiring artist with an incredible future in art!!! Loved the interview!

    Like

Comments are closed.