Featured Artist Karin Naylor

McClure's Beach ©2014 Karin Naylor

Hi Everyone!

I am starting my interviews with artists, and I am pleased to kick it off with artist Karin Naylor!

____________________________________

I’m from Oklahoma 🙂   I began painting about five years ago after my youngest son graduated from high school. I’ve always loved art and through the many years of  raising and homeschooling nine children, I enjoyed finding ways to create something beautiful from the inspiration of the world around me. I’ve dabbled in stained glass, fiber arts, watercolor, acrylics, and most recently oil painting.

As far as tips or shortcuts go…I highly recommend participating in something like 30 Paintings in 30 Days. I have done it 4 times now and it has helped me tremendously.

McClure's Beach ©2014 Karin Naylor

McClure’s Beach ©2014 Karin Naylor

Painting every day and posting it online forces you to find a technique that works for you. What works for me… I love ampersand textured panels. I’ve tried all kinds of surfaces and this is my favorite.

Little Chicken Rancher ©2014 Karin Naylor

Little Chicken Rancher ©2014 Karin Naylor

The first thing I do is mix some orange, or red paint with odorless turpentine and put a thin layer on the canvas or panel. Then I take some blue paint and quickly outline my composition. If it’s not right I can brush it out and try again. Once I get a general composition I use ultramarine blue and burnt umber to shade in all the dark areas.

Ride 'em (2) ©2014 Karin Naylor

Ride ’em (2)  ©2014 Karin Naylor

If I’m doing a figure, I generally start painting it after I get all the dark areas and shadows blocked in, starting with the hair and working down. Using a larger brush I’ll fill in the back ground and then work on all the details with a smaller brush. This is basically the technique that works best for me.

Go Somewhere ©2014 Karin Naylor

Go Somewhere ©2014 Karin Naylor

Some of my art is for sale at Aunt Gertrude’s House in Guthrie, Oklahoma   http://auntgertrudeshouse.com/

I also sell my paintings from my website… knaylorpaintings.com

_____________________________________________________________

I just want to thank Karin for being such a lovely host and thank you so much Karin for agreeing to do another artist interview for me.

Cindy Williams and Karin Naylor

Karin Naylor (on right) and me (Cindy Williams) on left

We discovered each other when doing the 30 paintings/30 days challenge in September 2013. (Challenge hosted by artist Leslie Saeta).

I visited my family in September/October 2014 and Karin and I were able to meet! I was thrilled!

She has a lovely family and she showed me her studio and her paintings. And her daughter and my daughter put together a lovely meal for us.

It was a great day! Before I went to meet Karin, I went to Guthrie, Oklahoma where there was an art walk and I was able to see Karin’s work that was exhibited in Aunt Gertrude’s House, a local art gallery.

Here is a photo:

Aunt Gertrude's House craft gallery

Aunt Gertrude’s House craft gallery
photo by ©Cindy Williams

I love Karin’s art and I always look forward to her latest blog post. You can follow Karin’s blog here too…

Thanks again, Karin! 🙂

Readers, please come back tomorrow for another artist feature: Artist Jocelyn Roberts.

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂
Cindy Williams
12 thoughts on “Featured Artist Karin Naylor

  1. Thanks Karin, it was so very nice to meet you and your family. You are welcome anytime you are over this way 🙂 I loved seeing your art in person, it is beautiful 🙂 I hope you get lots of visitors to your sites 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks, Cindy. I really enjoyed reading more about Karin, whom I also met through the 30 paintings challenge. She painted 2 commissioned works for me recently and I count her as a good friend, even though we have never met in person. What are the odds that your daughter would live nearby and you were able to visit Karin? Guthrie does look like a fun place to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.