Featured Artist Sharron Okines

Hi Everyone!

Today’s featured artist is Artist Sharron Okines:

I had a typical mid life crisis had no idea it would lead to me becoming an artist –  went to a local art course for a year where I put together a folio. Visited our closest Art College (Chisholm Frankston), felt completely at home, went for the interview, got in, was given such a wonder-full opportunity to just explore and make art.  I fell in love with oil painting and printmaking
Doogall Lores ©Sharron Okines

Doogall Lores ©Sharron Okines

How long have you been an artist?
 4 years (since I have graduated from College)
Is That for me Lores ©Sharron Okines

Is That for me Lores ©Sharron Okines

I started a daily drawing practice late last year – I have been using my dogs as life models, so I draw them for as long as they keep still. Am up to day 335 currently. For the last month or so I have been using my non dominant hand with pretty good results. Proving that practice does indeed dramatically make so much better!
Chardiepop ©Sharron Okines

Chardiepop ©Sharron Okines

I try to exhibit as often as possible, but best to contact me via my website – sharronokines.weebly.com
Thank you for your interview Sharron!
And thanks very much to you readers who took the time to stop and read our artist interview today.
Cindy

 

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂
Cindy Williams

7 thoughts on “Featured Artist Sharron Okines

  1. I’m envious that Sharron had the opportunity to go back to college and study art. I went back and got my first degree in music when I was 40. With the price of college these days it would make no sense to try it again. Sharon’s work is great! Thanks for another wonderful interview, Cindy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this interview! Sharon your dedication is amazing! Love your portraits, lots of personality in them!

    Cindy, I think that is so interesting too, so many people starting to paint later in life. I wish… i wish… I had started younger too. i was always doing something creative, but I should have focused on it more.

    Really enjoying the interviews. I am all caught up. I love seeing everyone’s work! Thanks for bringing all of these great artist to our attention Cindy!

    Like

Comments are closed.