Featured Artist Sheila Delgado

Hi Everyone!

Today’s featured artist is Artist Sheila Delgado:

I can’t think of any special tips or tricks. I still feel I have so much to learn. I would suggest for beginners to experiment with inexpensive brushes. You can try the different shapes that way and see what marks you can make with each. Yupo is great for watercolor, because you can wash off the paint if you don’t like the final result. You can also practice on student quality papers. When you are feeling more confident, treat yourself to a sheet of good quality watercolor paper. You can cut it up and have many pieces to work with. You will be amazed at the difference good paper makes.

Some of my favorite brushes are from the clearance bin, and I have had them for years. Also, experiment with everyday items  to make marks with. Combs, twigs, a toothbrush, leaves.

Ardent-Daydream ©Sheila Delgado

Ardent-Daydream ©Sheila Delgado

  1. Please tell us, where are you from?

I grew up in Loveland Colorado, and have lived in San Diego for almost 30 years. I currently live in Wildomar, near the Santa Rosa Plateau.

  1. When did you decide to become an artist?

In 2008, but I think it was another two years before I worked up the courage to show my work to others.

 

  1. Are you self-taught?

For the most part, yes. But saying that always feels funny to me. I am learning from all of the amazing artists I come in contact with. I have found that most artists are so generous in sharing what they have learned. Even their failures and lessons learned from them. I studied graphic art and computer graphics. I use those skills in my surface design work.

 

  1. What inspires you?

Nature, color… the landscape, or sky around me.

 

Blue-landscape- ©Sheila Delgado

Blue-landscape- ©Sheila Delgado

  1. What’s your favorite medium?

Watercolor. I love acrylics, mixed media, pastel. I enjoy creating digital repeating patterns. I have been wanting to learn more about encaustic, working with wax, but I just don’t have the space to do that right now.

  1. Who is your favorite artist?

I am always quick to say Georgia O’Keefe. She lived my “dream life”. Strong independent woman in the American Southwest. (Something to strive for.) But I love so many, including the friends I have made through classes and art challenges.

  1. Do you take art workshops?

As many as I can, but not nearly as many as I would like! I want to learn EVERYTHING. Painting with a palette knife, encaustic, collage, fabric design, pottery, block printing.

Loneliness-72 ©Sheila Delgado

Loneliness-72 ©Sheila Delgado

  1. Where can we find your artwork?

My art can be seen here:

Blog: http://www.sheiladelgado.com/

Zazzle Shop: http://www.zazzle.com/sheilascorner

Spoonflower (Fabrics): http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/demouse

I am also on Facebook and Pinterest.

  1. What was the first thing you drew or painted?

I have a few Dr. Seuss books that I scribbled in before I could read. I remember making maps after school, and doing “ink block” art with watercolors.

African-Queen ©Sheila Delgado

African-Queen ©Sheila Delgado

What advice do you have for other artists or people who want to get started selling their work?

Don’t compare yourself to other artists. Feel free to start small. ATC’s or postcards are perfect, you can get a bunch of them from one sheet of paper. Take a class or online course to help boost your knowledge, and your confidence will grow as well. Try different mediums, you will learn techniques that will influence you in ways you may not be aware of at first. Start a blog to build your audience.

 What really big thing has happened in your artistic journey?

I have contributed work to three books, and another will be published later this year. I have also had work shown in New York, Canada, and Germany. Being featured on Cindy’s Art Blog is another really big thing! Thank you Cindy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you so very much Sheila, for agreeing to an artist interview!

Thank you to all my readers for stopping by today.

Cindy

 

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂
Cindy Williams

8 thoughts on “Featured Artist Sheila Delgado

  1. Thanks Sheila, I love your artwork! you are the one who inspired me to do postcard paintings this month ( believe it or not) When you painted your entries for “Postcards from the Edge” http://www.sheiladelgado.com/tag/postcards-from-the-edge/

    https://www.visualaids.org/events/detail/17th-postcards-from-the-edge 🙂

    I always say, you never know who you will influence, or what kind of encouragement you will give others, who’s lives you will touch when you post your work. So next time everyone feels crappy about painting and posting your art, remember, there is someone…SOMEONE… out there who needs to see it.
    Thanks Sheila for agreeing to do this artist interview 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great interview with Sheila. She has got to be one of the nicest and friendliest artists out there. What she does seems so complicated to me. She’s also amazing in photoshop with her progress on her paintings on her blog. I have no idea how she does this. She’s amazing!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.