Featured Artist Vikki Hastings

 

Hi Everyone!

Today’s featured artist is Vikki Hastings:

My name is Vikki Hastings, I’m 27, and I have been painting seriously for 11 years. I graduated from the Edinburgh College of Art in 2011 with BA(hons) degree in painting, prior to this I studied at the Reid Kerr College, Paisley where I graduated with an HNC in Environmental Fine Art. Since graduating from university, I’ve been working full-time from my own studio in Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, where I have been primarily working on commission. I work part-time at the local gallery, The Wellington Gallery, where I work as a framer. I also hold exhibitions and art classes there.

Behind the Clouds

Behind the Clouds
Acrylic on Canvas
15″x11″
©Vikki Hastings

I work with acrylics, it’s a perfect partnership – they are fast-drying, and I am a very quick worker. I usually have about 6 or 7 paintings on the go at once. I used to be so concerned about getting a painting to look like a photograph, and my style has changed so much that I just don’t recognise what I was aiming for back then.
I like to ‘make marks’.  It’s all about the brushes, the size and shapes of the marks that they can make, and very thick paint. I shovel my paint onto the canvas, and the whole process is just massively successful to me. I prefer to give the impression of something rather than have something without a ‘hair out of place’.

Coming Home Soon ©Vikki Hastings

Coming Home Soon
W 23.00″ x H 20.00″ D 1.00″
Media: acrylic
Surface: canvas
©Vikki Hastings

The first tutor I ever had told me that it wasn’t about being able to draw, it was about making marks. I didn’t listen. I thought he was wrong. But it has only been in the last few years that I realised he was correct. Different brushes, make different marks, and you can use all those marks to create something that looks like nature, or looks like a figure without ever intending to draw it correctly.

Titanic the Last Sighting ©Vikki Hastings

Titanic the Last Sighting
W 40.00″ x H 30.00″ D 5.00″
Media: acrylic
Surface: canvas
©Vikki Hastings

My Art is for sale HERE.

Mostly, however, I work on commission. My facebook page is the best way to keep up to date with all my new works and works in progress: https://www.facebook.com/artistvikkihastings

Scotland's Decision ©Vikki Hastings

Scotland’s Decision
W 11.00″ x H 7.00″ D 1.00″
Media: acrylic
Surface: canvas
©Vikki Hastings

________________

Thank you Vikki Hastings!

Another very talented Artist!

Thank you all you readers for dropping by today!

Cindy

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂
Cindy Williams
4 thoughts on “Featured Artist Vikki Hastings

  1. very interesting. I am going to check out her FB page where I hope to get a better sense of her style. thanks for sharing Cindy.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.