Featured Artist Heidi Vormer

Hi Everyone!

Today’s Featured Artist is Heidi Vormer:

I was born in the Netherlands and I immigrated to Montreal, Canada last year.
I make photo-realistic pencil (and pen sometimes) drawings of everything I find interesting. When I was very little I already wanted to draw all the time, but I got really serious about it 5 or 6 years ago. I have autism and because of this I see the whole world in tiny little details. My drawings tend to be this way too, very precise and detailed.
Tree Drawing  ©Heidi Vormer

Tree Drawing ©Heidi Vormer

The whole world is a very chaotic place for me. When I’m out in public there are so many details of information coming in all at once. And they all compete for first place. I have to focus on so many things at once, and this is extremely exhausting for me. When I’m working on a drawing, I only have to focus on one thing, the details of my drawing. This is one of the reasons why I love drawing so much. And for me drawing has always been a way to express myself too.
Dangling Squirrel ©Heidi Vormer

Dangling Squirrel
©Heidi Vormer

 

People often ask me how I make my drawings. I always find this very difficult to explain because for me it goes so automatically and naturally. But what I can say is that when I’m for example working on a drawing of an elephant from a photo, I don’t try to draw an elephant. Or when I’m drawing it’s skin I’m not trying to draw skin. I look at the tiny details, and then I reproduce the details with my pencil. And all those details will make up the skin of the elephant.
Elephant  ©Heidi Vormer

Elephant ©Heidi Vormer

I do sell my artwork, and people can also get in touch with me for a commission. I don’t have links to separate drawings but you can find my drawings on my website: http://www.remrovsartwork.com
Koala ©Heidi Vormer

Koala ©Heidi Vormer

And I also sell prints of my artwork on Fine Art America: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/heidi-vormer.html
_________________________________
Thank you Heidi Vormer for being a featured artist!
Your realistic paintings are fab!
Thanks to you readers for stopping by today 🙂
Cindy

 

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂
Cindy Williams
6 thoughts on “Featured Artist Heidi Vormer

  1. Heidi, I LOVE your detailed paintings! It inspires me to TAKE MORE TIME with art. Thanks for participating this month, your art is fantastic 🙂 I love the way you have turned a “negative” into a positive and hopefully it will help others too 🙂

    Like

  2. Fabulous drawings. Feel free to post your work on my ART PARTY blogs. www. paintamasterpiece .blogspot .com I look forward to seeing you there.

    Like

Comments are closed.