Featured Artist Amira Rahim

Hi Everyone!
Today’s Featured Artist is Amira Rahim:
I’ve been drawing since I could hold a pencil, and painting shortly after that. I didn’t go to art school, so I guess you could say I am self taught. I really decided to become a professional artist about 2 years ago when I relocated to Abu Dhabi, UAE. Finding myself in a new country completely out of my comfort zone forced me to reconnect with the truest parts of myself. Art has been an awakening and a therapy for me.
Deep Blue ©Amira Rahim

“Deep Blue”
2014
16×20″ on canvas
©Amira Rahim

I like to paint in acrylics now but I used to use oil paints for years. When I started experimenting with abstract art, I found that acrylic mediums allowed me to work with the immediacy that I needed to loosen up.
Brave Heart ©Amira Rahim

“Brave Heart”
2014
20×40″ deep edge canvas
©Amira Rahim

 

How long have you been an artist?
I’ve been an artist since a kid.
Fae Flowers ©Amira Rahim

“Fae Flowers” 28×40″ Bold Abstract Palette Knife Painting
2014
28×40″
“Fae Flowers”
©Amira Rahim

What tips can you give that have made your artwork easier, such as tools, brushes, paint, etc? (this may help others)
I’ve found that squinting or taking a picture of the painting with my camera phone really helps me see the whole picture. Also, don’t be afraid to experiment with new media.
Electra Street ©Amira Rahim

“Electra Street”
2014
30×30″ canvas
©Amira Rahim

I sell my work at www.amirarahim.com and via my Facebook page.
___________________
Thank you Artist Amira Rahim!
Thank you to all the readers who dropped by today.

 

Please Like and Share this post 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂

Cindy Williams
7 thoughts on “Featured Artist Amira Rahim

  1. Beautiful work Amira. I particularly like your white backgrounds. You are welcome to come to my blog where I’m allowing artists to post their work each day in January. Just come to www. paintamasterpiece .blogspot .com and follow the instructions. If you rally your friends to vote you can both win prizes. Enjoy.

    Like

Comments are closed.