Featured Artist Mark Pettifer

Hi Everyone!

Today’s Featured Artist is Mark Pettifer.

Mark and I met through a mutual friend, and then I found out that he knows my hubby too, and Mark lives in the same town I do. He has some wonderful art, so here is my friend Mark Pettifer….

____________________

I never thought that I would try to make a living from writing and illustrating fairy tales, but it turns out that’s just what I’m attempting to do now, having previously worked in theatre, fashion, film, and having had work published in the BBC Book Of The Future thanks to Douglas Adams. It’s strange the way life pans out sometimes. I have just had my fiftieth birthday and only a month earlier I published my first novel.

The Travellers’ Rest (One Troubled Summer’s Eve) has been available on Kindle since 28th July and now, a week after my birthday, I’ve released two further versions in book form – a colour edition and a black and white edition – which makes me optimistic for the future.
At fifteen I was disabled after being attacked at school. I fell into a coma for three weeks and three days when I suffered two brain haemorrhages. This was not how I wanted to make my first media splash! Even though this story was short lived, and thankfully I wasn’t, the ramifications of the assault are still with me to this day and felt on a daily basis.

Stave's Son Pencil and Graphite  ©Mark Pettifer

Stave’s Son
Pencil and Graphite
©Mark Pettifer

I worked for 2- 3 years as volunteer at one of the local middle schools where I, along with a member of the full-time staff, run an after school wall painting club. Here pupils delight in painting their designs on the walls of the school and so far it has been a great success. I love it.
I started The Travellers’ Rest about twenty years ago. The images that I’ve used in my book were the starting point and working at the Golden Cross for a spell helped the story to unfold. I like the way that everyone you meet in an inn or pub has a tale to tell.
Even though The Travellers’ Rest is a complete novel, the book acts as an introduction to the world and characters that I’ve created.

Over the years, The Travellers’ Rest has grown into a four book story (books two, three and four are first drafts for the most part) with many more ideas in my mind to continue the tale further – time and health permitting.

Pipe Fairies Revolution cover ©Mark Pettifer

Pipe Fairies Revolution book cover
Medium: Colored pencil and Photoshop
©Mark Pettifer

A Brief Biography

Born on 3rd September 1963, and from my earliest memories I recall drawing, writing and making things.

School Harvington, near Evesham, was a delightful rural setting for a perfect childhood, until one day…

…My academic and artistic future seemed in doubt, when I was beaten up at high school and had to start learning all over again. I was changed forever in the way that I view life.

My family moved back to Redditch, where I attending Redditch Collage studied art.

From there I worked at the local theatre and gained an insight into the performing arts. I returned to college for a further two years. I completed a one year foundation in art and design and the second year BTec in Art and Design. I passed the course at merit level.

Glastonbury Tor by ©Mark Pettifer

Glastonbury Tor
Medium: Oil
©Mark Pettifer

To Stourbridge Technical College I went and studied Graphic Design HND and again passed this course.

The next few years saw me starting a photography business, a jewellery business and working for Redditch Council’s youth team.

At this point I found myself in the world of temping where I found time to write and illustrate much more than I’ve ever done.

I’ve worked in the fashion industry too.

I worked for 2- 3 years as volunteer at one of the local middle schools where I, along with a member of the full-time staff, run an after school wall painting club. Here pupils delight in painting their designs on the walls of the school and so far it has been a great success. I love it.

I write fantasy, heavy on the magic and humour, from fairy tales to modern day fairy stories where the magic comes from the characters a little more than from hocus pocus.

Wilson Halfmoon ©Mark Pettifer

Wilson Halfmoon
Colored Pencil and Fine Liner
©Mark Pettifer

Screenwriter, Tony Clarke, approached me to design the principle characters for his children’s television series called, Monster School, which was considered by Paramount Pictures. Sadly the show did not go into production.

A few years ago I was published thanks to Douglas Adams and the BBC in, The BBC book to the Future, and have illustrated a number of cover arts for books ranging from poetry to fiction.

Books to date: The Travellers’ Rest (A Troubled Summer’s Eve)

Pipe Fairies Revolution

Pipe Fairies II Secrets

Me, My Selfie and I

Out soon: Netty’s Tale (The Making of a Witch) – for all the family

Thought – for adults

_____________________________________________

Thank you Artist Mark Pettifer for the interview.

Thanks to all our readers for dropping by 🙂

Please Like and Share this post 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂

Cindy Williams
7 thoughts on “Featured Artist Mark Pettifer

  1. He really does, i LOVE his illustrations and artwork 🙂 Karin, Mark let me know that today he has sold two more books! YAY! That’s my goal, to help other artists and share, share, share! 🙂 (he said he likes to think it is because of this article haha YAY!!! I HOPE SO TOO! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.