Featured Artist Joy Hellman

Today’s Featured Artist is Joy Hellman:

I am a mixed media, fiber and collage artist and I use a variety of media and techniques to create my art. I not only use the usual paints and papers in my collage but I also combine a lot of non- traditional materials, found objects, recyclables, fabric and fibers in my finished pieces. I consider myself an out of the box artist and am always experimenting and exploring new ways of creating. I have use plastic grocery bag stretched over a frame as surface, painted collaged photos, bamboo wall paper, hand dyed tissue and anything else I might find interesting.. I have taken beer coasters and transformed them into pieces of art.

Painting: We are Sisters Fundraiser for Women’s Shelter ©Joy Hellman

 

I am always looking for new material to use in my collage: catalogs, brochures, advertising, poetry, or just words that I want to incorporate in my art to make a statement or provoke a feeling. I keep a clipart file of my own artwork to use in future collage and photo transfer the images onto fabric, velum and hand dyed tissue paper. I often incorporate flower petals, ferns, leaves and other things of nature that I find and dry. I have even used cotton balls, dryer lint, dress patterns, cardboard, bubble wrap, tulle, wall paper, and fabric, hand made paper, beads, shells, stones and feathers in my collage work. I love to use recyclables because I think it is a wonderful way to take something that is ordinarily thrown away and transform it into art. I use other techniques in my collage: stamping with hand made stamps, and rubbings with different textures, cutting tearing, folding, decomposing, aging, altered imagery, building, dying, painting, and bleaching.

 (Joy’s YouTube Channel)

 

My newest love is free motion embroidery to create textured surfaces, fabric manipulation and machine collaging. I also do hand beading and decorative stitching in my collage. I enjoy dying and painting my own tissue, paper towels and fabric, My constant inspiration are Quilting Arts and Cloth Paper Scissors as well as Celebrate Your Creative Self and other books for inspiration. I am constantly learning and inspired by other artists and their techniques.

Joy Hellman

 

I was very inspired by some of Raushenberg’s techniques and his use of recyclables. I also admire other artists who used collage in their work: Matisse and his paper cuttings of shapes, Picasso and his abstract cubist forms in collage and Bearden in his use of parts of magazine pictures in his work.

It continues to amaze me at how far the art form of collage has come from the first time that Picasso used a piece of oil cloth in his art to the incredible collage artists of today. As collage artists, we are creative and brave souls that are always pushing technique and media out of the box but that are what continues to make the art of collage fun exciting and always different. One of the things that I will say about both myself as well as other collagists is we trust our creative process.

My personal philosophy as collagists is to constantly explore, stretch, grow and when I have reached my comfort zone jump into the void because you never know what is just around the corner. Art is an adventure.

Transform Green Material into Art ©Joy Hellman

Transform Green Material into Art ©Joy Hellman

 

 As an artist I am always experimenting with techniques, media and exploring the creative process. I believe that the most exciting part of being an artist is the process of creating. I believe creativity is like magic when I open myself to the possibilities o f the unknown and allow my imagination, my intuition and creativity to marry. That is when the magic happens. I believe it is when I trust my own creative process, that I will experience that magic and again….

___________________________________________

Thank you Joy Hellman for being today’s featured artist!

I enjoyed this so much, and I have watched some of Joy’s videos, she teaches adults and children to create all sorts of mixed media art.

Joy Hellman website:  https://joyscreativespace.wordpress.com/

Joy Hellman Youtube Channel

Thank you to all you readers for visiting this month! More features to come!

Please Like and Share this post 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂

Cindy Williams
13 thoughts on “Featured Artist Joy Hellman

  1. I agree joy, it’s so much fun to reuse something that others would throw out. What you’re doing is exactly the direction I hope to head in this year. Feel free to join Cindy and myself on my blog and post your work in my ART PARTY. Lots of other artists, prizes, votes etc.

    Like

  2. Hi Joy! Thank YOU for participating this month! I am happy so many artists wanted to be involved 🙂 Im happy to share such diverse artists it has been so much fun 🙂

    Like

  3. Really inspiring Joy. I am hoping to do more collage. I have bits cuttings I prepped for this challenge, but I have yet to do a collage. Loved the music in the video, and your jewelry is great too! I’d love to have the space to work that large – what fun!

    Like

  4. Thanks Patricia I am just honored and blessed to have met so many create and beautiful people that makes my own creative journey so wonderful and magical. We all need a friend. I be a part of Cindy’s featured artist was such a gift. I love all tat she is doing here. When are you going to be featured?

    Like

  5. I am honored to share here thanks Cindy for asking me. I has been wonderful. You did such a great job gathering up all the amazing artists Here their stories is such an inspiration. Joy

    Like

Comments are closed.