Featured Artist Patricia LaCroix

Today’s featured artist is  Patricia LaCroix:

I’m a mixed media and textile artist who makes art dolls, fiber jewelry, belly dance costumes, art journals, and anything else that I think would be fun to make. It’s only recently that I’ve given myself permission to do this because for most of my art-life I’ve held the incredibly erroneous belief that if it wasn’t something useful, I was wasting my time making it.

Air  ©Artist Patricia LaCroix

Air ©Artist Patricia LaCroix

 

I have always played with textiles and dabbled with drawing. I learned to crochet and do macrame when I was 8, made my own Barbie clothes when I was 11, and taught myself embroidery as a teenager. My mother was an accomplished seamstress, so it surprised her that I didn’t take an avid interest in sewing until my late 20s. That was also the time when I started to practice mixing my methods – macrame, needlework, crochet, sewing, all of it at once in one project. This was also the time when my tribal belly dance costumes began to take shape. I was a modern dancer and gymnast, but I just fell in love with tribal belly dance at that time.

Melancholia ©Artist Patricia LaCroix

Melancholia
©Artist Patricia LaCroix

 

Mixed media art is something that I’ve only started exploring. Over the past four years I’ve pushed myself, mostly because I was having fun, but also because I was desperate to discover my own ‘style’. I still feel that my work is a long way from my internal vision, and yet I’m happy that I’m learning to enjoy the process. I enjoy working with watercolors – paint, pencils, crayons, markers, spray inks – anything water based, and I’m really growing to love colored pencils. I do sell all of my art. I have a Society6 (http://society6.com/patricialacroix) profile for mixed media work, and my textile creations,  belly dance costumes, and everything else are on Etsy (https://www.etsy.com/shop/BlueOwlArt?ref=hdr_shop_menu).

 

Waiting  ©Artist Patricia LaCroix

Waiting
©Artist Patricia LaCroix

I’m a homeschooling mom to three boys, work as a non-fiction writer and social media manager from home, and like everyone else have housework, life, and friends to incorporate, I had to really work at setting aside time to create every single day. I get up at least an hour (or more) earlier than everyone else, and use that time to journal, draw mandalas, and get my day started with art. I find that I can take little bits of time throughout the day as long as I start it off this way. The days when I miss this ritual, it’s nearly impossible for me to squeeze-in even one 10 minute session. My tip for anyone wanting to incorporate ‘more’ of anything into their lives is to start each day as you intend to continue and you’ll always have time for the things that matter.

______________________________________________

Thank you Artist Patricia LaCroix 🙂

Thank you readers for dropping by today 🙂

Please Like and Share this post 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂

Cindy Williams
15 thoughts on “Featured Artist Patricia LaCroix

  1. I enjoy your collage work Patricia. And I checked out your crochet work too, and it is fab! I love to crochet, the time goes very quickly and you don’t have time to think of anything but counting! 🙂 Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing my work here Cindy. I appreciate the energy that you put into this series and it’s been a lot of fun for me seeing who will be posted each day. I’ve found several new art crushes :))
    I had stopped crocheting for awhile because my hand would cramp so badly that I just couldn’t go on, but I’ve discovered methods and times of the day when that doesn’t happen as much, so I stick to that schedule. I do love having a crochet project for those favorite show marathons though😊
    I’m looking forward to the rest of your artist series as well as your 30 paintings! That’s another inspiring accomplishment. ❤️
    Thanks again Cindy & Happy 2015! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Vintage Gypsy Art and commented:
    It’s my turn for a feature on the talented Cindy Williams’ blog 😊 I’m pretty tickled to find myself in such amazing and talented company. If you haven’t yet, you need to check out the entire series. Thank you Cindy!

    Like

  4. I think that is quite understandable considering the sheer volume of posts you’ve managed this month! How are you doing it? lol I’m in awe of your productivity, and very grateful to you for everything ❤ I would live in Canada if the kids would move lol… so maybe you were channeling my secret hopes? xo

    Like

  5. Dear Patricia how lovely to see your work featured here ,well deserved my friend…now to see the other artists that Cindy has featured….great blog too Cindy…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Patricia, so lovely to see your beautiful heART being featured here, loved hearing bit more of your life story too, beautiful, like you:) glad we’re friends!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.