Featured Artist Nancie Urciuoli Johnson

Green Eggs and Hen ©Nan Johnson

Today’s featured artist is Nancie Urciuoli Johnson:

About me, how I got started:

I started painting when I was a teenager, in the basement of my parents home. I found leftover panels from house renovations and used them as canvas’s. I then used an assortment of left-over paints that I found with various brushes. For fine detail work, I would use nail polish or eye liner makeup, with the fine brushes they came with. For inspiration, I would paint from magazine photos (National Geographic for example) or the images on birthday or holiday cards. That Christmas my parents gave me my first set of oil paints.

Green Eggs and Hen ©Nan Johnson

Green Eggs and Hen ©Nan Johnson

Slow forward 20+ years and I suddenly take a class at the local high school in Acrylic painting. I become infatuated with this paint that doesn’t require toxic solutions for cleaning and thinning of paint. I start reading books about acrylics – start purchasing more paints – start working more with them.

Swiss Cabin ©Nan Johnson

Swiss Cabin
©Nan Johnson

They dry quickly & have no odor – interesting! I then decided that there were many painters of realism that are far more talented at that style than I will ever be, so I embraced my “shapes” style of painting and branch out into impressionism.

Rose Abstract  ©Nan Johnson

Rose Abstract
©Nan Johnson

The subjects I paint are a wide variety: Animals, Architecture, Floral, Landscape & Still Life.

Tips to share: • Paint from the heart • Step back often to look • Use your camera as another set of eyes (it’s amazing what It can show) • I use my computer & Photoshop to alter a painting as a test – to see if making a change is worthwhile. It can be a great tool.

Altered Colors ©Nan Johnson

Altered Colors
©Nan Johnson

My art is for sale through my website and through my gallery on DailyPaintworks. It is also available through the SVAN galleries in Northville, NY

Blog: http://nancies-art.blogspot.com/

Online Gallery: http://dailypaintworks.com/Artists/njohnson

Website: http://www.nanjohnsonfineart.com/

_________________________________________

Thank you Nancie Urciuoli Johnson for the interview today.

Thank you readers for dropping by 🙂

Please come back tomorrow for the next artist interview.

Please Like and Share this post 🙂

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, just enter your email on the “Follow Cindy’s Art Blog” button and then you will receive an email each time I write a new post 🙂 Thanks in advance 🙂

Cindy Williams
5 thoughts on “Featured Artist Nancie Urciuoli Johnson

  1. I love your photoshop idea for trying out the ‘next move’ before painting it Nancie. And I’ve just started using my camera to see the things that my eyes don’t when I step back, it is a fantastic tool. Your work is beautiful :))

    Like

Comments are closed.