Black and white portrait painting video

I was looking through YouTube (again) and was looking at how artists paint portraits.

Several of them are saying if it is a black and white painting, they use grey for the background.

This is different from the way I paint, as I usually paint dark to light.

However this would make things SO MUCH EASIER AND BETTER!

I hope this video can help others too…

Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Cindy Williams

One thought on “Black and white portrait painting video

  1. Like your making a canvas panel video shows, it’s a good idea to establish the mid ground value so you can tell how dark and how light your other values need to be. I think that’s why my pastelist mentor Karen Margulis always starts with a greyish ground. If you like colour you can also start with a coloured ground which is roughly a #5 value. I tend to use cadmium red light which is almost totally covered by the painting but helps to establish value (although you have to compensate for the brilliance).

    Like

Comments are closed.